Margarethe Vestager to receive the Schwarzkopf Europe Award 2018

Margrethe Vestager

The Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe is honoured to announce Mrs. Margrethe Vestager, who is currently EU Commissioner for Competition, as the receiver of the Schwarzkopf Europe Award in 2018. She receives the award for the inspiring interpretation of her role as commissioner and the courage she has shown in the past years fighting for fair competition.

Margrethe Vestager is a Danish politician who has been the EU Commissioner for Competition since 2014. Not only has she pushed for compliance with EU laws, but also worked throughout her career to bring EU institutions closer to their constituents.

„Margrethe Vestager is admired by young people especially for her courage. We are very happy to extend the Schwarzkopf Europe Award in 2018 to a strong role model,” says André Schmitz-Schwarzkopf, chairman of the board of the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe.

The awardee was chosen by a young jury consisting of the previous “Young European of the Year” awardees.

The award will be extended to Mrs. Vestager in a ceremony that will take place in Berlin at the Representation of the European Commission on January 29th, 2018. You can sign up to the event here or write an e-mail to anmeldung(a)schwarzkopf-stiftung.de. The event will be held in English.

Picture (c): Olli Geibel / European Commission

Margrethe Vestager bekommt den Schwarzkopf-Europa-Preis 2018

Margrethe Vestager

Die Schwarzkopf-Stiftung freut sich den Schwarzkopf-Europa-Preis 2018 an Margrethe Vestager, die EU-Kommissarin für Wettbewerb, zu verleihen. Sie wurde von der jungen Jury des Schwarzkopf-Europa-Preises ausgewählt für die brillante Interpretation ihrer Rolle und Aufgaben und für ihren großen Mut, den sie in den vergangenen Jahren gezeigt hat.

Die dänische Politikerin Margrethe Vestager ist seit 2014 EU-Kommissarin für Wettbewerb. Laut der Jury, die aus ehemaligen Preisträger*innen für den Preis Junge*r Europäer*in des Jahres besteht, hat Margrethe Vestager sich nicht nur für fairen Wettbewerb eingesetzt sondern auch dafür gearbeitet, EU-Institutionen für Bürger*innen zugänglicher zu machen.

„Margrethe Vestager wird von jungen Menschen vor allem für ihren großen Mut, den sie in den vergangenen Jahren gezeigt hat, bewundert. Wir freuen uns, den Schwarzkopf-Europa-Preis im Jahr 2018 an ein starkes Vorbild verleihen zu können“, sagt André Schmitz-Schwarzkopf, Vorsitzender der Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa.

Die Preisverleihung findet am Montag, dem 29. Januar 2018, um 18.00 Uhr in der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Berlin statt. Unter diesem Link könnt ihr euch anmelden oder eine E-Mail schreiben an anmeldung(a)schwarzkopf-stiftung.de. Die Veranstaltung wird in englischer Sprache stattfinden.

Bild (c): Olli Geibel / Europäische Kommission